SOUNDS

Music. Everyone has different tastes and preferences. It is the fundamental sound that can bring people together and divide people apart. In the 60’s, it was Beatles vs Rolling Stones, in the mid 2000’s English band scene, it was Arctic Monkeys vs The Kooks, and in the 2010’s, It was Nicki Minaj vs Lil Kim (whatever happened with that, btw? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tShu1o7se4 )

Naturally, everyones tastes can alter throughout their lives. I know, mine has. 4 years ago, I was on the barrier at a Kesha Concert at the AEC. Times have changed, friends. ‘We have seen through the looking glass, people.’ So, this post will consist of myself sharing my 5 favourite albums- some old, some new- that always put me in a good mood. Enjoy, and keep the peace.

BLUE PLANET EYES- THE PREATURES

This is hands down my favourite album of 2014! It was nominated for album of the year at the J awards and is quintessentially summer sounding. The Preatures have nailed an easy going feel-good sound that can be loved by all. Once you purchase Blue Planet Eyes, I can guarantee is the album you will play to death until you hate it from hearing it too much.

cdc72ae038424302540bd5d3ff0c40f8

LEARN TO EXIST- THE JUNGLE GIANTS

The Jungle Giants are another Australian band that have produced music that can be loved all year round. Songs like ‘She’s a Riot’, ‘Come And Be Alone With Me’ and ‘Domesticated Man’ are all songs that can be sung along to and cranked at the highest of volumes. And the album artwork is pretty neat too.

1013502_597217960300269_2015381111_n

1967-1970 [THE BLUE ALBUM]— THE BEATLES

Ok so everybody knows I’m a sucker for Lennon’s voice and McCartney’s lyrics, and this album is my favourite ever by the fab four. Their music is timeless and this album encapsulates all the goodness of the band. Released just 3 years after the break-up of the band, my absolute favourite song, ‘Across The Universe’, is joined by a chorus of other classics like ‘Lady Madonna’ and ‘Strawberry Fields Forever’.

original_464

WHATEVER PEOPLE SAY I AM, THATS WHAT I’M NOT- ARCTIC MONKEYS

THIS ALBUM IS EVERYTHING! I use it as my work out music, I listen to it in the morning to wake up and play it to get psyched for major events like exams and before aerobics comps. It has mellow hues in ‘Mardy Bum’ and ‘Riot Van’ but then the good old sing-a-long dance-your-ass-off tracks like ‘I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor’ and ‘When The Sun Goes Down’ (personal favourite) that balance out the album completely.

Arctic-Monkeys-Whatever-People-Say-I-Am-Thats-What-Im-Not

OUR VERSION OF EVENTS- EMELI SANDE

Emeli can do no wrong in my books. This album is beautiful. I listened to it to the point that I can now sing every song fluently but cannot tell you what and/or where a vertex is (Sorry, Berry) Emeli’s charismatic voice and eloquent lyricism complete a perfect sounding album that you know will always be there for you.

Emeli-Sande-Our-Version-Of-Events

Hey, I noticed Kesha isn’t on that list. [Mrs Krabappel laugh] HA!

Leave a Reply

