New Face(s): FK & TW

In a world of YouTube, Vine, 8tracks and voice memos, anyone in any form can be a singer. You do not need to be discovered in a dank cavern in Liverpool, a pub in Sheffield or fly to Hamburg for a weekend to be the next big thing in the world of music in order to succeed with the chords of a guitar. Look at Justin Bieber. Granted, he can be seen as arrogant nowadays, he was discovered via YouTube. He now has a net worth of $200 Million. He’s only 21.

But let’s strip this back to a time before iPhones and Google Glasses. A time where if you could sing and you wanted someone to hear it, you would ring up the council and obtain a busking permit. Or, if we go really far back, you would literally stand on the street corner and sing. Enter Faith Kongwa and Tom Wormald.Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Both residents of the seaside suburbs of Seacliff and South Brighton, Tom and Faith have a unique sound. The pair met in 2013 through family and developed a bond over their love of music. Kongwa introduced Wormald to Australian reggae band Sticky Fingers and Wormald provided a guitar. They hit it off, and never looked back.

Despite woes with rehearsal times between studying and having a job, the pair manage to perfect a sound that more need to hear. And after a first time busking stint at the Gilles Street markets in early March, they were back for more again today.

I caught up with one half of the duo to talk all things music.

Elysian Blog:What influences your sound?
Faith Kongwa: Other music mostly. The way I prefer to sing and how my voice sounds definitely reflects on my music taste. My mood is a major factor, also.

EB: What is your sound? Indie rock? Alternative? Pop-rock?
FK: A majority of the music we cover is alternative but I feel that because of the way I sing, a lot of songs have a slight R&B sound

EB: Earliest memories of music? As in, you playing.
FK: Music has been a major part of my life growing up. Mostly, I remember singing Abba and Beatles songs with my sister from a very young age. But besides that I started playing piano from the age of 7.

EB: First album ever purchased?
FK: I mostly just listened to my parents CDs as a kid but the first album I purchased on iTunes was Regina Spektor’s album, ‘Far’

EB: If you had the same music taste now that you had in 2010, would you proud or ashamed of your decisions?
FK: I’ve always had the same music taste my whole life. From an early age I felt music to be very important, and not something to be ashamed of. My parents have influenced my taste, so I listened to alternative mostly; however I did also listen to a lot of pop music like Justin Bieber and Ke$ha- as most 12 year olds do)




EB: Cliché I know, but, where is the future for Tom and Faith? IS there a future indeed?
FK: We have come so far from our jam sessions in our bedrooms! We have definitely improved a lot since then too. I feel like our goals are to gain more experience and continue to perform for other people.

Groovin the Moo or Futures?
FK: Groovin the Moo for sure!

Lennon or McCartney?
FK: Lennon

Guitar or piano?
FK: Piano

Digital download or hard copy (album)?
FK: Digital download (I’m too disorganised to have heaps of CDs)

Vinyl or disc?
FK:
Vinyl

Matt [Okine] or Alex [Dyson]?
FK: Matt because his weather raps light up my mornings

One thought on “New Face(s): FK & TW

Leave a Reply

