Bobridge Bidding Goodbye

In an unexpected turn of events overnight, endurance racing powerhouse Jack Bobridge has announced his retirement from professional cycling effective immediately. The South Australian, winner of multiple world titles and reigning Australian champion, leaves the sport behind after a decade professional on the track and the road.

Bobridge is arguably one of the greatest Australia has seen on the track with an engine capable of world, Commonwealth and national records. Not many could forget when the then 21-year-old broke Chirs Boardman’s 4000M Individual Pursuit world record that launched the man from Gawler into the eyes of the public.

Coming in a year Bobridge won his inaugural Australian Road National title, and winning it again in 2016, Bobridge followed the success in 2012 with two silver medals at the Track World Championships and silver at the London Olympics against the formidable defending champions of Great Britain.

Success followed in 2014 at the Glasgow Commonwealth Games where the endurance racer defended his 2010 title in the Individual Pursuit against fellow South Australia, Alex Edmondson, and contributed to Australia’s gold medal in the Team Pursuit.

“I’ve had a good career, I’ve got good results and done Comm Games, Olympics and worlds, road and track, I’ve lived a good life in Europe and to me the decision is pretty easy, and since I made it I haven’t thought twice about it” Bobridge told the Adelaide Advertiser.

However, to every fairytale career comes a complication thrown into the mix and for Bobridge this came in the form of rheumatoid arthritis. “Since the (Rio) Games and backing off the training and racing load I’ve found my arthritis has been 100 per cent better and I’ve been able to get off all meds (medication) as well,”

“There’s pain in my feet, hands and my back. When you get the flare ups your body is fighting it and a Grand Tour is hard enough as it is. Obviously I love the bike, the racing and the lifestyle, but I’ve got a two-year-old (daughter) now and I could drag on for three or four years but come 40 or 50 the damage it’s going to do and the arthritis in my body … I don’t see sport is worth it”

Bobridge now resides in Perth with wife, Josephine, 2009 Omnium world champion, and their daughter Amelie.

JB 2.jpg

Images C/O Cycling Tips

Leave a Reply

