Scandolara Seals Victory as Bibby Makes History

Valentina Scandolara (Alé Cycling) and Ian Bibby (JLT Condor) have claimed overall line honours at the 2017 Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic as Orica-Scott’s Jessica Allen and Caleb Ewan took out the final of the three races. With the 2017 cycling season kicking off early in Australia, January 1st to be exact, the Italian and the Brit stormed to glory across the three days around Geelong.

Colloquially referred to as the Bay Crits by the cycling faithful, the 2017 series was shortened from its traditional four days to three in order to avoid clashing with the Australian National Road Championships beginning today in Ballarat.

Sprinter Ewan recovered from his one-race crash in fine form by taking out the final round of the series alongside compatriot Allen in the women’s race. Overall winners Scandolara and Bibby finished fourth in their respective races to seal overall victories and inaugural Bay Classic titles. With the win, Bibby becomes the first international rider in over 25 years to take out the men’s title and Scandolara only the second international female to win after her compatriot, Georgia Bronzini.

Bibby held a comfortable lead heading into the final men’s race securing overall victory yet Scandolara only led former teammate Amanda Spratt (Orica-Scott) by two points on the decisive final day. A three-rider break gave Scandolara an advantage with one member being her Alé teammate. Spratt placed eighth in the bunch sprint with Scandolara securing victory through her fourth place finish.

Women’s final

  1.  Valentina Scandolara (Alé Cycling) 24 pts
  2.  Jessica Allen (Orica-Scott) 21
  3.  Amanda Spratt (Orica-Scott) 18
  4. Yumi Kajihara (Novotel Geelong-Japan) 16
  5.  Sarah Roy (Orica-Scott) 14
  6.  Peta Mullens (Hagens Berman-Supermint) 13
  7.  Shannon Malseed 12
  8.  Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica-Scott) 11
  9.  Lucy Bechtel (Specialized Women’s Racing) 10
  10.  Jenelle Crooks (Orica-Scott)

Men’s final

  1. Ian Bibby (JLT Condor) 29 pts
  2. Mathew Gibson (JLT Condor) 24
  3. Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott) 18
  4. Brenton Jones (JLT Condor) 17
  5. Anthony Giacoppo (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness) 16
  6. Samuel Spokes (Total Rush) 14
  7. Michael Hepburn (Orica-Scott) 12
  8. Jesse Kerrison (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness) 10
  9. Cameron Bayly (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness) 9
  10.  Patrick Lane (VTWO Team) 5

Image C/O Cycling Tips


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s